Fort Crook Museum

Fort Crook Historical Society

Drawing Courtesy Frank Germano


History of Organization


      Inspired by the determination to protect and preserve the colorful history and treasures of this locality, a group of citizens met and organized this society on June 12, 1934.

     The nine persons who signed the charter were: Nora M. Selvester (1891 - 1980, Harriet B. Sivley, C.C. Bidwell, Amanda C. Bidwell of Hat Creek; Amanda A. Nicholson of McArthur, Meade I. Reynolds and Josephine Bosworth of Fall River Mills and Elsie L. Bosworth of Cayton.

      The name Fort Crook Historical Society was suggested by Mrs. Lydia Joiner of Lookout and it was voted on and carried.

      The first officers were: President, Nora Selvester; First Vice President, R. Josephine Bosworth; Ass't. Secretary, Dorothy Burr; Treasurer, Meade I. Reynolds.

Dinner at the Roof Raising Bee - 1964

      Purpose of the Society: To collect and record all historical data associated with the settlement of the Intermountain area which includes parts of Shasta, Modoc, Lassen and Siskiyou Counties; To collect and preserve anything that may have historical value and to mark places of historical value.

      On November 25th, 1934, the Charter Membership of the Society was closed with thirty one members.

     The first meeting was held in the Fall River Grange Hall (Actually Fall River Lions Club), although at times member are invited to meet at homes and other places where they are made happy by the change.

Fort Crook Museum in 1965



Revised:July 2015

2004 / 2008 All Rights Reserved

Fort Crook Historical Society

Site Maintained by:

Site Created by: